The Scorch Trials Book Review

Untitled-1

Hello!

After, what it looked like ages, i finally found some time to finish ‘The Scorch Trials’. This is the second book in the Maze Runner trilogy, i made a review on the first book and movie. If you read this book , this first part isn’t very detailed but be sure to read the second part of this post!

In this installment we follow Thomas and the Glader after the events on the Labyrinth.

Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.

There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die.

The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.

There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive.

Like you can imagine, reviewing a second book in a trilogy isn’t easy without giving away something. I will try, as always, my best.
I’m still getting over all the new information we get. I feel this book is more about world building. We get to find out how the world is and how WICKED actually treats the people with problems.
We also get to meet a lot of new characters and ‘social groups’. The funny thing is, i think this groups are only there to help us understand the world not the plot it self.

The book is very fast paced after looking back at it. A ton of things happen (i’m still really confused about everything). I don’t know if i like this feeling but the thing is. After reading that last page i just want to read the next book so i guess the mystery is the true element of this trilogy.

Unfortunately there are a lot on people who hate this trilogy or just don’t find it amusing, i find it quite fun and mindblowing (at least mindconfusing…)  Just give it a try and don’t give up on the trilogy based on other opinions.

So 4 out of 5 stars. Did you read it? Are you planning to?

4-stars

A detailed review next! 🙂

First i need to let this out of my chest….

I Hate Teresa.

Sorry, i just can’t, can’t, deal with her. But i will do this review divided by parts.

Thomas: I got to enjoy Thomas a lot more in this book but the poor boy is just as confused as me. He is really having a hard time with everything. I find he is only truly happy with Minho, Newt and fellow Gladers. I still don’t understand how he could possibly forgive Teresa. But i guess i will find it latter.

Brenda/Teresa: I’m joining this two together because i feel they go together. Like i said Teresa isn’t my cup of tea. She really need to get her s*t back in one. What was that thing about kissing Aris? Are the three (four???) of them joined in some telepathic way? Does Aris gets jealous of Thomas? I really thing is the second one.
Then it comes Brenda. I wasn’t enjoying her first but then (just like with Thomas) she grew on me. I got curious about she talking in Thomas head. Was she one of the Variables?

Newt/Minho: Unfortunately i didn’t get to pass enough of time with this two. I really like the way they articulate. The Three of them are a great group, they balance each other. I need to get more out of them. And for the love of my sanity DON’T KILL THEM!

Plot: I can’t even say a word. My thoughts? I’m banging my head on the wall. What are those dreams of Thomas? Variables and patters and Teresa acting all weird (i guess she knows a lot more) Then Aris appears and he is just like Teresa and Thomas so why isn’t he also important like Thomas?
If they are an experience why are they going through all of this? How is this supposed to find a cure?
So many questions i don’t get it. Once again the phrase WICKED is Good is stuck in my head.

Well, i hope you enjoy this review. Next the Death Cure.

Stay Awesome,

Viviana

2 thoughts on “The Scorch Trials Book Review

Leave a Reply

